Jump to content

Magic: Difference between revisions

From SankoQuest Wiki
Adds new "Combat XP" section (Mechanic block, prose, worked-example table for 1dmg/2dmg/splash) plus one SourceEvidence row and an updated BountyPrompt; intro/Skill-template description touched up to mention the new section. Splash Stamina XP explicitly phrased as presumed/inferred zero, not confirmed. Fixed during gate: prose and evidence-note originally over-claimed the caveat was resolved on Attack/Strength/Defense/Archery too (those pages are untouched by this batch and still carry the ol...
Add the three teleport spells — Magic is no longer combat-only; Warp Shard finally has a use
 
Line 3: Line 3:
= Magic =
= Magic =


Magic is SankoQuest's spell-casting combat skill. The combat spellbook is complete as of July 2026: the game has exactly '''8 combat spells''', all verified in-game (2026-07-05) with unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, and max hits (one max hit not recorded — see below). Every cast consumes [[Shards]] crafted with the [[Mixnometry]] skill. Magic's combat-hit XP formula, including a splash (miss) mechanic unique to the skill, is now documented below — see [[#Combat XP|Combat XP]]. Cast speed, accuracy, and damage formulas beyond XP still need gameplay verification.
Magic is SankoQuest's spell-casting skill. The '''combat''' spellbook is complete as of July 2026: the game has exactly '''8 combat spells''', all verified in-game (2026-07-05) with unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, and max hits (one max hit not recorded — see below). Every cast consumes [[Shards]] crafted with the [[Mixnometry]] skill. Magic's combat-hit XP formula, including a splash (miss) mechanic unique to the skill, is now documented below — see [[#Combat XP|Combat XP]]. Cast speed, accuracy, and damage formulas beyond XP still need gameplay verification. Magic is no longer combat-only: client data from 2026-08-27 adds '''three teleport spells''' to the same spell registry — see [[#Teleport Spells|Teleport Spells]] below.


{{Skill|skill_id=magic|name=Magic|description=Magic covers the 8-spell combat spellbook: unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, elements, and max hits, plus the combat-hit XP formula and splash mechanic.|source=In-game, 2026-07-05|verification_status=gameplay-verified}}
{{Skill|skill_id=magic|name=Magic|description=Magic covers the 8-spell combat spellbook: unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, elements, and max hits, plus the combat-hit XP formula and splash mechanic.|source=In-game, 2026-07-05|verification_status=gameplay-verified}}
Line 42: Line 42:
|default={{MissingData|field=spell recipe rows with level, element, shard cost, and source status|page=Magic|evidence=spellbook screen or game data row|template=Recipe}}
|default={{MissingData|field=spell recipe rows with level, element, shard cost, and source status|page=Magic|evidence=spellbook screen or game data row|template=Recipe}}
}}
}}
== Teleport Spells ==
Client data read on 2026-08-27 found the spell registry had grown from exactly 8 entries to 11. The three new entries carry <code>kind: "teleport"</code> rather than <code>kind: "combat"</code>, and the client gained matching helper functions to separate the two kinds — the first non-combat spells recorded on this wiki.
All three rows are {{StatusBadge|datamine-candidate}}: they come from the client's code and have not been cast in-game. None of the 8 combat spells changed in any way.
{| class="sanko-table"
! Spell !! Magic level !! Shard cost !! Destination !! Magic XP !! Cast time !! Cooldown
|-
| [[Home Teleport]] || 1 || None (free) || Desert (x 133, z 184) || None || 7 ticks || 3,000 ticks
|-
| [[Apache Teleport]] || 25 || 1 [[Warp Shard]], 3 [[Air Shard]], 1 [[Fire Shard]] || [[Apache]] (x 201, z 69) || 35 || 1 tick || None
|-
| [[Greentown Teleport]] || 31 || 1 [[Warp Shard]], 3 [[Air Shard]], 1 [[Earth Shard]] || [[Greentown]] (x 373, z 268) || 41 || 1 tick || None
|}
None of the three can be cast in combat, and all three are interruptible.
Two things follow from this that are worth stating plainly:
'''It gives [[Warp Shard]] its first confirmed use.''' Warp Shard sat on this wiki for weeks with no known purpose — it was craftable at [[Mixnometry]] 30 and did nothing observable. Both paid teleports consume one per cast, which also explains why the [[Wise Old Man]] prices it at 600 Coins, far above every other shard.
'''It explains the "31 magic" line in the [[Desert Adventure]] walkthrough.''' That guide lists "31 magic", "Teleport to Greentown", and "Teleport to Apache" as recommended preparation without saying why 31. Greentown Teleport requires exactly Magic 31. The guide was written from gameplay and this figure comes from the client, so the two agreeing is independent corroboration of both.
{{MissingData|field=in-game confirmation of the three teleport spells, and how they are unlocked (whether Desert Adventure completion is required for Apache Teleport, or the Magic level alone)|page=Magic|evidence=spellbook screenshot at the relevant Magic levels, or casting them in-game}}


== Shard Inputs ==
== Shard Inputs ==
Line 73: Line 98:


== Evidence ==
== Evidence ==
{{SourceEvidence|evidence_id=magic-teleport-spells-2026-08-27|target_page=Magic|target_template=Spell|target_field=teleport spells, levels, shard costs, destinations, XP|evidence_type=client data|captured_at=2026-08-27|status=datamine-candidate|notes=Client data (sigma.sankoquest.com bundle, 2026-08-27), spell registry in chunk 8897a5150f2afa7b.js (beautified lines 1305-1530): 11 entries, up from 8 on 2026-07-05. New entries home_teleport (reqLvl 1, free, cooldownTicks 3000, castTicks 7, dest Desert x133 y0 z184), apache_teleport (reqLvl 25, Warp x1 + Air x3 + Fire x1, 35 magic xp, dest Apache x201 y0 z69), greentown_teleport (reqLvl 31, Warp x1 + Air x3 + Earth x1, 41 magic xp, dest Greentown x373 y0 z268); all kind "teleport", allowInCombat false, interruptible true. The 8 combat spells are byte-identical to the 2026-07-05 capture. Not yet confirmed in-game.}}
{{SourceEvidence|evidence_id=magic-spellbook-full-2026-07-05|target_page=Magic|target_template=Recipe|target_field=full combat spellbook (8 spells: unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, max hits)|evidence_type=in-game observation|captured_at=2026-07-05|status=gameplay-verified|notes=Verified in-game, 2026-07-05: the combat spellbook holds exactly 8 spells as of July 2026. Air Missile unlocks at Magic level 1; Fire Blast's max hit is 12. Levels and costs are consistent with the datamined spell rows where they overlap, and resolve the earlier Air Blast cost discrepancy (that observation was Air Missile's cost).}}
{{SourceEvidence|evidence_id=magic-spellbook-full-2026-07-05|target_page=Magic|target_template=Recipe|target_field=full combat spellbook (8 spells: unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, max hits)|evidence_type=in-game observation|captured_at=2026-07-05|status=gameplay-verified|notes=Verified in-game, 2026-07-05: the combat spellbook holds exactly 8 spells as of July 2026. Air Missile unlocks at Magic level 1; Fire Blast's max hit is 12. Levels and costs are consistent with the datamined spell rows where they overlap, and resolve the earlier Air Blast cost discrepancy (that observation was Air Missile's cost).}}
{{SourceEvidence|evidence_id=magic-spell-levels-datamine-2026-07-08|target_page=Magic|target_template=Recipe|target_field=spell unlock levels (all 8 spells)|evidence_type=client data (datamine)|captured_at=2026-07-08|status=datamine-candidate|notes=Client's level_requirements.magic_spells table, each row tagged skill="magic", lists Air Missile 1, Water Missile 5, Earth Missile 9, Fire Missile 13, Air Blast 17, Water Blast 23, Earth Blast 29, Fire Blast 35 — an exact match to the levels already gameplay-verified 2026-07-05. Adds a second, independent source; does not change any number.}}
{{SourceEvidence|evidence_id=magic-spell-levels-datamine-2026-07-08|target_page=Magic|target_template=Recipe|target_field=spell unlock levels (all 8 spells)|evidence_type=client data (datamine)|captured_at=2026-07-08|status=datamine-candidate|notes=Client's level_requirements.magic_spells table, each row tagged skill="magic", lists Air Missile 1, Water Missile 5, Earth Missile 9, Fire Missile 13, Air Blast 17, Water Blast 23, Earth Blast 29, Fire Blast 35 — an exact match to the levels already gameplay-verified 2026-07-05. Adds a second, independent source; does not change any number.}}

Latest revision as of 04:04, 28 August 2026

Magic

Magic is SankoQuest's spell-casting skill. The combat spellbook is complete as of July 2026: the game has exactly 8 combat spells, all verified in-game (2026-07-05) with unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, and max hits (one max hit not recorded — see below). Every cast consumes Shards crafted with the Mixnometry skill. Magic's combat-hit XP formula, including a splash (miss) mechanic unique to the skill, is now documented below — see Combat XP. Cast speed, accuracy, and damage formulas beyond XP still need gameplay verification. Magic is no longer combat-only: client data from 2026-08-27 adds three teleport spells to the same spell registry — see Teleport Spells below.

Magic
Magic covers the 8-spell combat spellbook: unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, elements, and max hits, plus the combat-hit XP formula and splash mechanic.

Verified

Related pages Main Page · Items · SankoQuest:How to help

Help verify tools, nodes, recipes, training methods, boosts, calculators, and quest unlocks Accepted evidence: skill screen, recipe screen, or verified training data. Add it with {{TrainingMethod}}.

Add this How to verify

Tools

Help verify verified tools for this skill Accepted evidence: tool use screenshot, equipment screen, or reviewed gameplay note. Add it with {{ToolStats}}.

Add data How to verify

Resource Nodes and Facilities

Help verify resource nodes, facilities, or actions tied to this skill Accepted evidence: node interaction screenshot or reviewed scene data. Add it with {{ResourceNode}}.

Add data How to verify

Recipes and Actions

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 1 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 1 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 1 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 5 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 9 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 13 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 17 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 23 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 25 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 29 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 31 Unverified

Qty 1 Spellbook Magic Level 35 Unverified

Training Methods

Help verify training methods, XP, routes, assumptions, and evidence for this skill Accepted evidence: repeatable gameplay method with screenshots and freshness date. Add it with {{TrainingMethod}}.

Add this How to verify


Spellbook

The full combat spellbook, verified in-game (2026-07-05). These are all 8 combat spells in the game as of July 2026. Costs are per cast.

Spell Magic level Cost per cast Max hit Status
Air Missile 1 (first spell) 1 × Air Shard + 1 × Spirit Shard 2 Verified
Water Missile 5 1 × Water Shard + 1 × Air Shard + 1 × Spirit Shard 4 Verified
Earth Missile 9 1 × Earth Shard + 1 × Air Shard + 1 × Spirit Shard 6 Verified
Fire Missile 13 1 × Fire Shard + 1 × Air Shard + 1 × Spirit Shard 8 Verified
Air Blast 17 2 × Air Shard + 1 × Void Shard 9 Verified
Water Blast 23 2 × Water Shard + 1 × Air Shard + 1 × Void Shard 10 Verified
Earth Blast 29 2 × Earth Shard + 1 × Air Shard + 1 × Void Shard 11 Verified
Fire Blast 35 2 × Fire Shard + 1 × Air Shard + 1 × Void Shard 12 Verified


Game-data rows

Datamined spell rows from each spell page render below. They are consistent with the in-game verified table above where they overlap.

Page Spell Element Level Base max hit Status
Main Page Air Missile air 1 2 Needs gameplay verification
Air Missile Air Missile air 1 2 Needs gameplay verification
Home Teleport Home Teleport 1 datamine-candidate
Water Missile Water Missile water 5 4 Needs gameplay verification
Earth Missile Earth Missile earth 9 6 Needs gameplay verification
Fire Missile Fire Missile fire 13 8 Needs gameplay verification
Air Blast Air Blast air 17 9 Needs gameplay verification
Water Blast Water Blast water 23 10 Needs gameplay verification
Apache Teleport Apache Teleport 25 datamine-candidate
Earth Blast Earth Blast earth 29 11 Needs gameplay verification
Greentown Teleport Greentown Teleport 31 datamine-candidate
Fire Blast Fire Blast fire 35 12 Needs gameplay verification

Teleport Spells

Client data read on 2026-08-27 found the spell registry had grown from exactly 8 entries to 11. The three new entries carry kind: "teleport" rather than kind: "combat", and the client gained matching helper functions to separate the two kinds — the first non-combat spells recorded on this wiki.

All three rows are Unverified: they come from the client's code and have not been cast in-game. None of the 8 combat spells changed in any way.

Spell Magic level Shard cost Destination Magic XP Cast time Cooldown
Home Teleport 1 None (free) Desert (x 133, z 184) None 7 ticks 3,000 ticks
Apache Teleport 25 1 Warp Shard, 3 Air Shard, 1 Fire Shard Apache (x 201, z 69) 35 1 tick None
Greentown Teleport 31 1 Warp Shard, 3 Air Shard, 1 Earth Shard Greentown (x 373, z 268) 41 1 tick None

None of the three can be cast in combat, and all three are interruptible.

Two things follow from this that are worth stating plainly:

It gives Warp Shard its first confirmed use. Warp Shard sat on this wiki for weeks with no known purpose — it was craftable at Mixnometry 30 and did nothing observable. Both paid teleports consume one per cast, which also explains why the Wise Old Man prices it at 600 Coins, far above every other shard.

It explains the "31 magic" line in the Desert Adventure walkthrough. That guide lists "31 magic", "Teleport to Greentown", and "Teleport to Apache" as recommended preparation without saying why 31. Greentown Teleport requires exactly Magic 31. The guide was written from gameplay and this figure comes from the client, so the two agreeing is independent corroboration of both.

Help verify in-game confirmation of the three teleport spells, and how they are unlocked (whether Desert Adventure completion is required for Apache Teleport, or the Magic level alone) Accepted evidence: spellbook screenshot at the relevant Magic levels, or casting them in-game.


Add this How to verify

Shard Inputs

Missile-tier spells consume elemental shards plus a Spirit Shard; Blast-tier spells consume elemental shards plus a Void Shard (verified in-game, 2026-07-05). Each spell page renders its shard cost with {{Recipe|recipe_kind=Spell}}. Use item links for shard pages and keep damage formulas out of prose until tested. Shards themselves are crafted with the Mixnometry skill (one of the game's 15 skills, verified in-game; exact in-game capitalization unverified) at altars; Void Shards are in turn combined from Fire, Earth, and Spirit shards — see Mixnometry.

Combat XP

Mechanic

Magic combat hits are confirmed to follow the same base rule already documented for melee and Archery's pure styles: total combat-skill XP per hit equals damage dealt × 4, awarded entirely to Magic, plus Stamina XP equal to damage dealt × 1 on top (verified in-game, July 2026; see Combat#Combat XP Formula for the general rule). This resolves an earlier caveat on the Combat, Stamina, and Calculators pages, which excluded Magic from the formula pending confirmation; the parallel caveat on the Attack, Strength, Defense, and Archery pages is not yet updated and still reads as an open question pending a separate edit. Magic is a single-skill style throughout — no split-style behavior like Archery's Longrange (which sends part of its XP to Defense) has been reported for Magic.

Confirmed worked examples:

  • A 1-damage Magic hit grants 4 Magic XP + 1 Stamina XP.
  • A 2-damage Magic hit grants 8 Magic XP + 2 Stamina XP.

Splashing — landing a hit for 0 damage, i.e. a miss — is a case unique to Magic among the reported combat skills: it still grants a flat 2 Magic XP, half of a 1-damage hit's Magic XP, rather than the 0 XP the damage × 4 formula alone would produce (confirmed in-game, July 2026). Whether a splash also grants any Stamina XP was not stated; taking the damage × 1 formula literally (0 damage × 1 = 0) suggests none, but this specific case is presumed rather than confirmed — see Stamina's XP Formula for the parallel caveat.

Result Magic XP Stamina XP
1 damage 4 1
2 damage 8 2
Splash (0 damage / miss) 2 Not stated — presumed 0, unconfirmed

Datamine Reconciliation (resolved)

An earlier in-game observation recorded the basic air spell costing 1 Air Shard + 1 Spirit Shard, which conflicted with the datamined Air Blast row. With the full spellbook verified in-game (2026-07-05), that discrepancy is resolved: 1 Air Shard + 1 Spirit Shard is Air Missile's cost — the first spell — not Air Blast's. Air Blast, verified in-game at Magic 17 with 2 Air Shards + 1 Void Shard per cast and a max hit of 9, matches its datamined row exactly; the datamine is consistent with in-game observation.

Separately, the client's own level_requirements.magic_spells table (each row tagged skill="magic") lists exactly the same 8 unlock levels as the table above — Air Missile 1, Water Missile 5, Earth Missile 9, Fire Missile 13, Air Blast 17, Water Blast 23, Earth Blast 29, Fire Blast 35 (2026-07-08). This is an additional, independent confirmation of the levels already verified in-game; it does not change any number.

Evidence

teleport spells, levels, shard costs, destinations, XP client data Unverified

full combat spellbook (8 spells: unlock levels, per-cast shard costs, max hits) in-game observation Verified

spell unlock levels (all 8 spells) client data (datamine) Unverified

Magic combat XP and splashing in-game observation Verified

Wiki task

Needs a verified source Fire Blast's max hit, Air Missile's exact unlock level, spell cast timing, accuracy, damage formula, combat use, and confirmation of whether splashing grants any Stamina XP (currently presumed zero, not directly confirmed) Accepted evidence: gameplay screenshot, official data, reader capture, or curator-reviewed notes.

Target page: Magic. Listed on SankoQuest:Open bounties.